top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarrie Stephens

Direction and Encouragement

Many (MANY) years ago, I had a high school teacher tell me that teaching probably wasn't the best fit for me. I'm not going to name that teacher because we are all human and make mistakes. Thank goodness I had good teachers that same year who encouraged me and were positive role models. I needed both of those things to push me. I've got a stubborn streak in me (just a tiny one, don't get it twisted) and I used it to prove that teacher wrong; I also used all of the positive energy that others provided to become a teacher.


Next week I will start my 20th year teaching and can't imagine myself doing anything else. There are good teachers and ones who need more direction and encouragement. There are good police officers, and ones who need more direction and encouragement. There are good leaders, and ones who need more direction and encouragement. There are good people in every profession, job, of every skin color, in every nation, and of every faith, and then there are those who need more direction and encouragement. Whatever you think about individual people, I encourage you not to lump everyone with a similar attribute in with that person. We each have to decide. Do we want to complain, or give direction and encouragement?


I know who I want to be. Do you?


34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page